lets get this started

I’ve always had a problem with self analysing  what I’m good at when it comes to creative digital media. I guess it harkens back to Ira Glass’ comments on the  Creative Gap.

However, this part is supposed to be about what I’m good at, so, let’s jump into that. I know I’m a good editor, one of my first projects was to create a tourism video for Kilkenny County Council to use in online marketing campaigns. The project took about two months to fully edit to the standard that my project managers and I were happy with. I was dealing with a lot of footage taken from all over Kilkenny and my own footage from the days I spent down there meeting the members of the tourism board and visiting their various businesses. The finished product was first displayed at a gala event for the board members and to my surprise received a standing ovation(that was a pretty cool moment). Since then its been displayed in Australia, Germany, Spain, Dubai and Qatar, that I know of, and failteIreland expressed interest in using it as well. Heres the video, if you’d like to have a look at it.

What I’m not good at is coding. I’ve never found enjoyment in sitting infront of a computer scrolling through lines upon lines of code trying to fix the multiple errors in my script. Its monotonous. Dumb errors, fighting against the computer, configuration its all just too much for me to handle in a two or three hour sitting or however long it takes to achieve something that you don’t completely hate.

So my current idea for my final year project is a marketing campaign based on a fictitious film company. This would heavily employ my abilities as a web designer and coder. An area which, as discussed, I’m quite behind on in terms of the rest of the class and indeed my own enjoyment of this area is lacking. However as film is something that I’m deeply passionate about I feel confident working on a website based around this and seeing it out to its full potential. This would also incorporate my abilities in graphic design, working on movie posters and such, which again would be highly beneficial when we’re looking at the overall industry involved in creative digital media. Which goes into my next discussion topic of where these skills can be used in the industry.

As this is a multi-disciplinary course there are bountiful options available to the successful graduate. Mainly the graduate who takes a good understanding of the areas discussed and can show that they have incorporated these in an outstanding project. So using everything that I wish to employ this year, some possible areas of work for me would be, firstly, the graphic design industry. It is an expanding industry and extremely diverse, so whether I choose to freelance for a time in order to create contacts and expand my body of work or attempt to attach myself to a company involved in print the choice, really, is mine. Of course film as well, be it as an editor, vfx artist or camera operator. Really anything that I do best on and truly enjoy will more than likely be the area that I wish work in. in the coming years.

