Design Shack logo and linkThis is a really useful post that is helping me to visualise my final site a little more. I really like the featured graphic layout.

image of a featured graphic layoutIts simple, doesn’t distract the reader too much and can be implemented very effectively to push your core idea or goal. Sites like Sprouting Photographer use this well, although looking through this I’m not sure it would be useful as the core layout, it seems to be better suited for ads. Perhaps I could use this as a profile page for the designers I interview, or if I were to code in HTML 5 this layout would be useful.

The five boxes layout also looks pretty appealing. It is an extremely versatile layout and can used in vastly different ways. Perhaps this could be useful as my landing page.

five boxes layout for web designIt is implemented well on sites like True Tea.

screen cap of truetea.com layout

